GABF Breakfast

Wide awake at 4:30 am which is 6:30 am back home and tried to get back to sleep to acclimate to the time change.  Before I knew it, 6:30 arrived and I shot out of bed, cleaned myself up and dressed quickly to get to breakfast early to “beat the crowd”.  We were warned by Chris Swersey, GABF Competition organizer, that getting there before 7 am was the smart thing to do and I wanted to get back to the room and jump on the computer .

I ordered an omelet and went to check out the other offerings, the Marriott puts on quite the spread and I have to watch myself not to over do it.  Just when I went back to the omelet station I noticed another Beer Judge taking what looked like my omelet with spinach, mushrooms, onions and cheese.  The woman working the omelet station says ” can I make you an omelet?”  and I realize then the protocol is to stand over the station and hawk your omelet until it is ready.  I tell her I already ordered one and described my order with which she responds ” well, I have this one with ham, spinach and tomato or I can make you another, no problem”.  I accept the one offered without really thinking about the impact to someone else and assume it is the one ordered by the person who took  mine.  I walk to my table with which I hear the next fella  go thru the same routine I did.  I look back and watch Randy Mosher describe his “ham, spinach and tomato” omelet that is now on my plate.  He orderred another.  My bad, sorry Randy……

On to the morning session of  judging, more to come.  Cheers,  Bill

~ by madfoxbrewing on September 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
